Environment

Lokeren is centrally located between Antwerp, Ghent and Brussels. These major cities are easily accessible via Lokeren both by train or private car. The center of Lokeren is just 3 km away from the E17 motorway that is a important European north-south connection axis.

Lokeren is situated in Land of Waes along the river Durme. It has a number of protected nature parks like Molsbroek, The Buylaers, The Moervaart Marsh, the De Durme Marsh, etc. It is a stone's throw from Waasmunster Heath, and from the Provincial Domain Puyenbroek in Wachtebeke and from the Donkmeer in Overmere.

Cycling routes are plentiful in the area, including: the Canteclaer Route, the Isegrim Route , the Grim Bear Road, the Brook and the Liniewegelroute the Molsbroek- and the Buylaersroute, etc.

The Porvincial Domain Puyenbroeck in Wachtebeke has a lot to offer. A few years ago a beautiful 9 hole golf course was opened for the public.

Every year in early August there is a Festival is Lokeren on three stages in the center of the city.: The Lokerse Feesten with national and international guests and groups, the Fonnefeesten and the Polifonics. The festival lasts for 10 days and is spread out over two weekends and a full week and attracts daily tens of thousands of visitors. Both young and old find every day their something at their proper chocie. The beer flows abundantly, but the atmosphere is friendly.

Slightly further away, namely in Ghent, in the second half of July and the Ghent Festival "Gentse Feesten" takes place and every five years Ghent organanizes the Floralies. A must for flower- and plant lovers.

In Spring and in Autumn , Garden Days are held in the park of the Castle of Beervelde. These events attract thousands of visitors every day from home and abroad. This event is a must for both garden and antiques and curio-lovers.

Every Sunday morning from 6 AM, at
Lokeren Station Square, one of the largest outdoor flea markets is held in East Flanders. It attracks a lot of people by fine weather.

In September "Lokeren Lives" is instead. The Council and the retailers organize the "Fashion Walk". A few shopping streets are tuned into a catwalk. Dozens of clothing stores and boutiques show off their collections on the red carpet to the streets of Lokeren with their own models, mostly their own clients. That day is also a "Leisure Market" where organisations can show their programs for the next season. The day closes with "Lokeren Sings" an event in open air where the public sings popular songs supported by a large choire of volunteers.

You can see, Lokeren has its own strengths and it can also take profit of its central location where the green is never far away. Moreover it is an ideal stop for travelers on their way to and from the south.

Environnement

Lokeren est situé entre Anvers, Gand et Bruxelles. Ces grandes villes sont facilement accessibles via Lokeren en train et en voiture privée. Le centre de Lokeren est à seulement 3 km de l'autoroute E17, un axe de connexion européen nord-sud important.

Lokeren fait partie du Pays de Waes et est situeé au long de la rivière "la Durme". Lokeren compte un certain nombre de parcs naturels: "Molsbroek, Les Buylaers, les Marais du Moervaart et de la Durme, etc. Il est à un jet de pierre de la bruyère de Waasmunster et du domaine provincial "Puyenbroek" à Wachtebeke et du Lac à Overmere Donk.

Les p
istes cyclables sont nombreuses dans la région, y compris: la Route de Canteclaer, la Route Isegrim, la Route de Grimbeer, la route de Ledebeek et du Liniewegel, la oute de Molsbroek ou des Buylaers.

Le Domaine Provincial Puyenbroeck à Wachtebeke a beaucoup à offrir. Il ya quelques années un bel terrain de golf 9 holes a été ouvert à la grande public.

Chaque année, au début d'u mois d'août il y a un grand festival de ville à Lokeren sur trois podia. Les "Lokerse Feesten" les "Fonnefeesten " et les "Polifonics". Ces fêtes durent 10 jours et s'étalent sur deux week-ends et une semaine complète. Ils attirerent des dizaines de milliers de visiteurs par jour. Les jeunes et vles adultes y découvrent chaque jour une vaste gamme musicale. La bière coule à flots, mais l'ambiance est conviviale.

Un peu plus loin, à savoir à Gand, dans la seconde moitié de Juillet les Fêtes de Gand ont lieu. Aussi à Gand, tous les cinq ans à Gand, le Floralies sont organisées. Un must pour les amateurs des fleurs et des plantes.

Au printemps et en automne le Compte du Château de Beervelde orgnanise dans son parc "Les jounrnées des Plantes". Cest événement attire tous les jours des milliers de visiteurs tant au pays qu'à l'étranger. Cet événement est à la fois une nécessité pour les amateurs du jardin et des antiquités et curiosités .

À la place de la Gare, tous les dimanche il y a à partir de 6h du matin, une des plus grands marchés aux puces en plein air de la Flandre Orientale.

En Septembre «Lokeren Leeft" est organisé par la municipalité et les commercants avec entre autres de défilé de mode . Des dizaines de magasins de vêtements et boutiques montrent leurs collections sur le tapis rouge dans les rues de Lokeren avec leurs propres modèles, la plupart du temps leurs propres clients. En plus il y a le "Marché du Temps Libre ou les diverses associations présentent leur programme. Les derniers années, le jour termine avec une soirée chantante en plein air "Lokeren Zingt".

Vous pouvez le voir, Lokeren a ses propres a ses propres atouts et peut en plus profiter de sa situation géographique centrale, où le vert n'est jamais loin "Fel Naturel". Il est d'ailleurs une étape idéale pour les voyageurs sur leur chemin vers et à partir du sud.